Governor-Generals, Presidents, Prime Ministers and Opposition Leaders

Mauritius is a democracy based on the Westminster model. The Constitution of Mauritius provides for a General Election to take place every five years. The Prime Minister, as Head of Government, runs the country with a Cabinet of Ministers. There is constitutional provision for the Leader of the Opposition.

On Independence Day, March 12, 1968, Sir John Shaw Rennie, represented the Queen as Head of State. Dr Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (later Sir Seewoosagur) became the first Prime Minister as leader of the ruling Independence Party (made up of Labour, CAM and IFB). Mr Gaëtan Duval (later Sir Gretna) became the first Opposition leader.

On the departure of Sir John Rennie, Sir Raman Osman, a former Supreme Court Judge was appointed as the first Mauritian Governor-General. He was succeeded by Sir Dayanand Burenchobay, a former Secretary to the Cabinet.

Labour Party leader, Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, stayed at the helm in post-independent Mauritius for 14 years (1968-82). In his times he had to face, as Opposition leaders, PMSD leader Sir Gaëtan Duval and MMM leader Sir Anerood Jugnauth.

In June 1982, The MMM/PSM alliance captured all the seats of the Legislative Assembly. The alliance’s Leader, Sir Anerood Jugnauth, became Prime Minister, and Gaëtan Duval, Leader of the Opposition.

Sir Anerood Jugnauth, too, stayed in power for 13 years (1982-95) through the ballot box. During his term of office, the country saw Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam and Sir Veerasamy Ringadoo as Governor-General (subsequently President), and Cassam Uteem as President; Sir Gaëtan Duval, Paul Berenger, Sir Satcam Boolell, and Dr Navin Ramgoolam as leaders of the Opposition.

Sir Anerood Jugnauth was finally unseated by Dr Navin Ramgoolam who during the last two years he has been in office has had to reckon with Sir Gaëtan Duval, Nicolas Von Mally, and Paul Berenger as leaders of the Opposition.

Mr. P. Berenger

Dr. N. Ramgoolam
Sir G. Duval
Mr C. Uteem

Sir S. Ramgoolam

Sir R. Osman

Sir D. Durenchobay

Sir V. Ringadoo

Sir S. Boolell

Sir A. Jugnauth